Home | Menu | Sign Up | Donate
Awards Gala October - Union Station - October 3, 2019
Contact Us:EmailConnect With Us:FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagramRSSAwards Gala October - Union Station - October 3, 2019

86th Texas Legislature Committees Have Been Announced

The committee rosters have been announced for the 86th Texas Legislature. The committees are where the real heavy lifting of the session gets done, so we take a keen interest in which lawmakers land on the committees most of interest to child protection. If you live in the district of one of these lawmakers, you have an amplified voice in shaping legislation.

The budget will be shaped by these two committees:

Senate Committee on Finance: Jane Nelson (Chair), Juan "Chuy Hinojosa (Vice-Chair), Paul Bettencourt, Brian Birdwell, Donna Campbell, Pete Flores, Kelly Hancock, Joan Huffman, Lois Kolkhorst, Robert Nichols, Charles Perry, Larry Taylor, Kirk Watson, Royce West, John Whitmire

House Committee on Appropriations: John Zerwas (Chair), Oscar Longoria (Vice-Chair), Greg Bonnen, Sarah Davis, Mary Gonzalez, Donna Howard, Rick Miller, Sergio Munoz Jr., Toni Rose, Matt Schaefer, J.D. Sheffield, Gene Wu, Cecil Bell, Brad Buckley, Giovanni Capriglione, Philip Cortez, Cole Hefner, Jarvis Johnson, Ina Minjarez, Carl Sherman Sr., Reginald "Reggie" Smith, Lynn Stucky, Steve Toth, John Turner, Gary VanDeaver, Armando Walle, Terry Wilson

And these committees are especially important to child protection legislation:

Senate Committee on Health & Human Services: Lois Kolkhorst (Chair), Charles Perry, (Vice-Chair), Dawn Buckingham, Donna Campbell, Peter Flores, Nathan Johnson, Borris Miles, Beverly Powell, Kel Seliger

House Committee on Human Services: James Frank (Chair), Gina Hinojosa (Vice-Chair), Stephanie Klick, Thresa "Terry" Meza, Travis Clardy, Joe Deshotel, Rick Miller, Candy Noble, Toni Rose

House Committee on Juvenile Justice and Family Issues: Harold Dutton (Chair), Andrew Murr (Vice-Chair), Gina Calanni, James Talarico, Rhetta Bowers, John Cyrier, Jay Dean, Hugh Shine

House Committee on Public Health: Senfronia Thompson (Chair), John Wray (Vice-Chair), Garnet Coleman, R.D. "Bobby" Guerra, Eddie Lucio III, William "Bill" Zedler, Steve Allison, James Frank, Evelina "Lina" Ortega, Four Price, J.D. Sheffield

And the Calendars Committee decides the order in which bills make it to the floor for debate and final passage in the House:

House Committee on Calendars: Four Price (Chair), Joseph Moody (Vice-Chair), Joe Deshotel, John Frullo, Craig Goldman, Oscar Longoria, Will Metcalf, Tom Oliverson, Eddie Rodriguez, Toni Rose, John Wray

Posted on January 24, 2019.

Our Mission

Our mission is to reduce and prevent child abuse and neglect through research, advocacy and education. We effect change by organizing and educating our members to advocate for increased investments in evidence-based child abuse prevention programs, CPS reforms, and treatment programs to heal abuse victims. Learn more about the work we do. You can help protect Texas children from abuse & neglect. Find out how you can help.

Learn more about our affiliation!

About Us

Mission and Work

Prevent Child Abuse Texas

Our Founder

Our Board

Our Staff

Our Supporters

In the News

Financials and Reports

Contact Us


Legislative Agenda

Bill Tracker

Home Visiting Campaign

Past Accomplishments

Legislative Resource Center


ZipRisk Map

Data Dashboard


Child Abuse Facts

Trusted Resources


Prevent Child Abuse Texas


Dallas HOPES

Get Involved

Make a Donation

Attend an Event

Take Legislative Action

Jobs and Volunteer


Honorary Chairs

Sponsorship Opportunities